2015 Rome Prize at the American Academy in Rome

The American Academy in Rome is now accepting applications for the 2015 Rome Prize competition.

Each year, through a national juried competition, the Rome Prize is awarded to emerging and established artists and scholars working in the following categories:

  • Ancient Studies
  • Medieval Studies
  • Renaissance and Early Modern Studies
  • Modern Italian Studies
  • Design (includes graphic, industrial, interior, exhibition, set, costume, and fashion design, urban design, city planning, engineering, and other design fields)
  • Historic Preservation and Conservation
  • Landscape Architecture (includes environmental design and planning, landscape/ecological urbanism, landscape history, sustainability and ecological studies, and geography)
  • Musical Composition
  • Visual Arts (includes painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, film/video, installation, new media, digital arts, and other visual arts fields)

Rome Prize winners live and work at the Academy’s eleven-acre campus in Rome and receive a stipend, room and board, and a study or studio. Stipends for six-month fellowships are $16,000 and stipends for eleven-month fellowships are $28,000.

The deadline for applications is 1 November 2014 (extended deadline 15 November).
For more information and to apply, please visit the Academy website at www.aarome.org/romeprize

WarStories Conference at NYU’s Center for Ancient Studies

The Rose-Marie Lewent Conference 2014, organized by NYU’s Center for Ancient Studies, will he held on Tuesday, November 11, 2014 (Veterans Day).  The conference is entitled, “WarStories.”  The event is co-sponsored by the NYU Center for Ancient Studies, the Aquila Theatre, the Society for Artistic Veterans, and the Dean of the College of Arts and Science, and is free and open to the public.


The evening will include an opening address by Kwame Anthony Appiah, NYU Professor of Philosophy and Law, and staged readings based on Sophocles’ Philoctetes; the full program may be viewed here: http://ancientstudies.fas.nyu.edu/object/Lewent_Conference_WarStories.html

SCS Awards for Excellence in Teaching at the Precollegiate Level

The Society for Classical Studies has extended the deadline for Precollegiate Teaching Award Nominations to Friday, November 7, 2014.  Instructions for submitting nominations appear here.

The Joint Committee on the Classics in American Education invites nominations for the 2014 SCS Awards for Excellence in Teaching at the Precollegiate Level. Thanks to a very generous gift to the Society’s Gatekeeper to Gateway Campaign for the Future of Classics from Daniel and Joanna Rose, the amounts to be awarded have been increased substantially.  Up to two winners will receive a certificate of award and a cash prize of $500.  In addition, each winner’s institution will receive $200 to purchase educational resources selected by the winner.  The winners will be announced at both the SCS Annual Meeting in New Orleans, LA in January 2015 and the ACL Institute in June 2015, and winners may select the meeting at which they wish to receive the award.


Eligibility is open to teachers, full- or part-time, of grades K-12 in schools in the United States and Canada who at the time of the application teach at least one class of Latin, Greek, or classics at the K-12 level. Membership in the SCS is not required.  Nominations may be made by a colleague, administrator, or former student, who is thoroughly familiar with the teacher’s work