Each year at its annual meeting the Association presents ovationes to members who have been selected by the Awards Committee for their significant service to the discipline and the organization. The ovatio is read in Latin by a colleague close to the honoree at the banquet, while copies of the ovatio in Latin and English are distributed to attendees.

The ovatio recognizes long and distinguished service to CAAS and/or to the classics community by those in the CAAS region, especially by those retiring or concluding a long term of service.

2017-2018 Awards Committee:  Sarah Ferrario,, chair (2015-2017); Shelley Haley (2017-2019); TBD; Judith P. Hallett, Program Coordinator, liaison

2016 Recipients of CAAS Ovationes:               Gratulatio:
Shelley P. Haley, Edward S. Sacks;                        Sarah Pomeroy

2015 Recipients of CAAS Ovationes:               Gratulatio:

Frederick BoothLinda FabrizioWilliam Klingshirn       gruen

Frederick Booth, Linda Fabrizio, William Klingshirn;     Erich Gruen

2014 Recipients of CAAS Ovationes:

Jennifer-Roberts Carl Rubinotompkins

Jennifer Roberts, Carl Rubino, Dan Tompkins

2013 Recipients of CAAS Ovationes:


Martha Davis, Andrew Miller, Paul Properzio

2012 Recipients of CAAS Ovationes:

William J. Mayer, Barbara Pavlock, David Sider

Archive of Honorees